Tron 2 Revealed at Comic-Con

Disney revealed the debut trailer for Tron 2 today at Comic-Con.

Just when the bearded man thinks he has evaded his foe, the black-and-green cyclist bolts out in front of him. The bearded man screams as he crashes through his foe’s Light Cycle trail, smashing into a virtual wall of colored light. His Cycle destroyed, the bearded man lies broken and beaten as his opponent approaches him.

The trailer then cuts to the real world where we see an older Kevin Flynn — yes, once again played by Jeff Bridges! — rising to his feet inside of a virtual reality computer room and holding a device in his hand. Bearded and with his longish silvery hair slicked back, Flynn is far more menacing and cold than he ever seemed in the 1982 original.

Cut back to inside the game world where the victorious Light Cyclist’s helmet visor flickers open to reveal Flynn’s face. His defeated opponent whimpers, “But it’s only a game,” to which Flynn cryptically replies, “Not anymore.” The trailer then cuts to the sequel’s logo: TR2N.

The crowd was told that no more footage from the film would be seen publicly until next year, closer to the film’s release.

I loved the original Tron so I hope that I won’t be disappointed. There are some high standards for me for this to work. Did anyone play Tron the video game? I absolutely loved it and wish I still had it in my collection. Man, why did I get rid of that game?

What are your memories of Tron?

{IGN}

Posted on July 26, 2008, in Entertainment, Gamer, News, Technology, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Tron was my video game that I used to play when I lived in NY constantly. I loved Tron so much that I played the game with playing the movie soundtrack on my sony walkman. I wished the action figures were up to snuff.

    Thanks for the news on Tr2n.

  2. I agree with you on the action figures. I was surprised when I heard about Tron 2. They really do have big shoes to fill. I remember watching the movie and playing the game so much, but to this day you will never catch me in a Tron suit..

    LOL

Leave a Reply

